The current Charlestown City Council includes the following members, elected in November, 2019 who will serve through 2023.

Council District District Map Representative Phone Number Email Address
District 1 District 1 Map  Bo Bertram
District 2 District 2 Map Ruthie Jackson
District 3 District 3 Map B. J. Steele
District 4 District 4 Map Brian Hester
At-Large City of Charlestown J. T. Cox

This page is currently under construction – links and information will be updated ASAP. 

Request to address the Charlestown City Council here.


The City Council

Members of the city council are part-time elected officials who serve for four years and can run for re-election as often as they wish.  As a legislative body, the council exercises many of the powers given cities through the passage of ordinances and appropriation of money. The following is a list of what the council may do and requirements one must meet to be a city council person:

  • authority to fix the annual salaries of all elected officials
  • authority to fix annually the salaries of members of the police and fire departments.
  • authority to reduce, but not to increase, any other items in the city budget as submitted by the mayor for its approval.
  • if elected to a district he or she must have been a resident of that district for at least six months and a resident of the city for at least one year
  • if he or she moves from the district or from the city, the person forfeits the office

The council also has the power to form committees, either standing or special, to aid them in the completion of their work. Standing committees are permanent committees, set up at the beginning of the term of office, and to which are referred all matters relating to specific subjects. Special committees are temporary and are set up to handle a special subject and are discharged when the issue is settled. The council issues resolutions and ordinances. You may download those documents.

Charlestown’s Common Council

The Common Council of the City of Charlestown meets for its regular business meeting on the first Monday of the month, beginning at 6:30 p.m. in the council chambers of City Hall, located at 304 Main Cross Street, Charlestown, Indiana. If an additional meeting is required in the same month, it will be held at 6:30 p.m. on the third Monday of the month.

The Council is the legislative body of the government of the City of Charlestown, responsible for drafting and approving ordinances and resolutions that affect all Charlestown residents.

Regular business meetings of the Charlestown City Council are subject to rescheduling during holidays and due to unforeseen circumstances; please check the Charlestown Event Calendar or contact 812-256-3422 during regular business hours.