Redevelopment Commission

The Charlestown Redevelopment Commission is a public body, established in 2003 to eliminate blight and enhance economic opportunity in the City of Charlestown. Development projects in Charlestown include commercial, industrial, retail and education.

The mission of the Charlestown Redevelopment Commission is to create an environment in the City of Charlestown that encourages business growth and expanded opportunities for the city’s residents.

Five commissioners sit on the Charlestown Redevelopment Commission; three are appointed by the mayor and two by the city council. The commission identifies and evaluates areas of opportunity and implements improvement programs. The redevelopment director reports to the commission and is charged with leading the city’s redevelopment efforts, including attracting new businesses to the city, implementing growth initiatives and pursuing grant funding from both private and government sources.

The Charlestown Redevelopment Commission is primarily funded by the city’s tax increment financing district, grants, property leases and the purchase and sale of real property.

Current members are:

  • Mayor Bob Hall (President)
  • Eric Vaughn
  • Pat Glotzbach
  • George Roberts
  • Ted Little

Meetings are open to the public and are held on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of each month in the Council Chamber at City Hall beginning at 9:00 a.m.