Board of Public Works

The Board of Public Works is a three-member board appointed by the mayor and is responsible for the appropriation of funds for the city’s service departments and day-to-day operations. The board is the city’s chief administrative body and directs the operations of the city’s sanitation, water, wastewater and police departments.

Three members currently sit on the board:

Mayor Treva Hodges

Jim Adams

David Reed

The board meets on the first and third Wednesdays of each month at 9 a.m. in the chambers of the Charlestown Common Council.  Also usually, in attendance are City Attorney Mickey Weber and Clerk-Treasurer Donna Coomer. These meetings are live-streamed via the City of Charlestown Facebook page and later uploaded to YouTube.